Repetitive Practice

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I ought to draft a villanelle per week
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀or close as I can get it to come out.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀If but to get each Monday out of bed,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I’ll make it our routine to peer ahead.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Then having peered as far as distant doubt,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I ought to draft a villanelle per week
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀so as to lend some form to what’s unique
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀as though thought circles on a roundabout.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀If but to get each Monday out of bed,
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I’ll chase the dreaming circling in my head
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀to know what’s at the center of its route.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I ought to draft a villanelle per week
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀reflecting its repetitive technique
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀in choice and consequence alike throughout
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀if but to get each Monday out of bed.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀Might one more to your liking do instead?
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀You’ll not make it past Saturday without.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀I ought to draft a villanelle per week
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀if but to get each Monday out of bed.

 


 
 

by cyn with adrien and maggie

About this entry